Know God Now.

Once again, it has been a while since I’ve posted. This time, it has been due to some serious thought. Thought about why I post: is it so I can shine in my “high spirituality”? Or to communicate ideas that will strengthen and encourage the body of Christ? I’ve learned how much selfishness and arrogance can rule my life. It is a battle indeed. However, even writing this now, I realize how I have neglected a passion of mine. How good it feels to combine words to create sentences and have those sentences communicate ideas and thoughts. It was good to take a break and take a good look at my heart, but now it feels wonderful to write again! 

My main inspiration for writing this post is because I have seen more and more where this generation is going. It is interesting for me to look at high schoolers now and then look at who I was in high school. They look very similar. A lot of my high schools years were spent chasing my pleasures be it girls, skateboarding, or video games. You name it. If it was something that I enjoyed and brought entertainment to my life, I pursued it. In the midst of those pursuits, I look back and see how very confused I was. Because the things I pursued (mainly women and relationships) ruled over my heart, I did everything to attain it: lying about who I am physically and as a person, changing parts of me to seem more appealing to whomever I was trying to impress, and ANYTHING I could do to have a girl like me or be in a relationship. 

Thankfully, most of my plans failed and I was continually humbled to the point where I was frustrated. Granted, there were other times when my scheming succeeded and I regretfully got what I wanted. If God had not frustrated my plans over and over I do not think I would have been led to Him, and would be, to this very day, seating my desires on the throne of my heart and doing everything I could to satisfy them. I praise the Lord that He pointed out the idolatry in my life, which was an incredibly painful process. 

Anyway, my point is that when I look at this society in which we live, I begin fear and lose hope. I cannot imagine raising a child in this day in age. All the things that kids (children mind you) are exposed to today. I could list them all, but that would digress from my point. In spite of all this, I am reminded of a God who redeemed me from a similar culture. If I had to offer any piece of advice to the youth of today (meaning high school and younger) I would say to pursue God now. Too common is it thought that, “I will have fun while I am young, and then do the ‘Christian thing’ later on in life.” Or sometimes, perhaps not consciously, there is a thought that says, “Sexual pleasure, partying, alcohol, drugs is the best thing I can get in this life.” 

I, too, have erroneously thought this, but that was before I had tasted the sweetness of the fellowship I have with God. I think C.S Lewis said it right when he said that our desires are not too strong, but too weak. We desire these things, which are good sometimes. Our flaw, though, is thinking that they can bring any satisfaction to our lives. And I would distinguish pleasure from satisfaction by saying that pleasure brings excitement while satisfaction brings rest. So then, let us take heed to this word:

 

“Make every effort to live in peace with everyone and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one falls short of the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.”

-Hebrews 12:14-15

 

Leave a Reply

