Worship-less worship

Very recently, I was talking to a couple of good friends (Clint Harper and Elliott George) and they were talking about how sometimes people sing things they don’t understand. They commented that it’s becoming more common that the time of worship by singing has become equal to the amount of time the pastor speaks. Because of this, it is also becoming more important to correctly worship God. In the same way you wouldn’t have a theologically unsound pastor preach a church, why would we allow theologically incorrect worship leaders lead worship?

I completely agree with them. It hit me a little bit harder this week at the gathering (Tuesday night worship service on campus). I sincerely want to sing praises unto God Most High! It’s the words of truth that stir my soul, not just emotional feel-good lyrics. When we sing songs that speak of who God is in a way that mimics what the Bible says…oh the desire in my heart to pour out song and praise and fill the room with loud music.

A song entitled “What Do I Know Of Holy” by the band Addison Road is a great example of a song that pierces the heart. Here is a sample of the lyrics:

“I guess I thought that I had figured You out
I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about
How You were mighty to save
Those were only empty words on a page
Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees”

This is so true! Look at all the times in the Bible that God appeared to people! They weren’t all happy and smiley! They were terrified:

Isaiah 6:5

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.”

Job 42:5-6:

“My ears had heard of you
but now my eyes have seen you.
Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes.”

And even the Apostle John, who had seen Jesus before, saw Jesus again in His Heavenly form (Revelation 1):

“When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead.”

God is terrifyingly holy. Yes, He is our Father and Friend, but He is God. Jesus Himself says this in John 4:24:

“God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”

If we are not worshiping in truth, then what are we doing? The idea of worship is to bring worth to our object of worship, hence it’s appropriate to call it worthship. Next time you are singing in church or any place for that matter, consider what you are about to proclaim.

Leave a Reply

